RSS

useful, used and abused- matatu man.

03 Jun

It’s been four years since I started writing this blog; looking back, I can proudly say i have made a difference. I have convinced a number of Kenyans in the diaspora to invest in the transport industry and generate income here at home instead of sending handouts to relatives back home every now and then.This blog has helped quite a number of people find footing in the transport sector. This year alone,2014; I have met about five investors who came to OngataRongai and I have helped two to access asset finance from a bank and two have actually bought 33 seater minibuses cash at General motors. A doctor in Germany and a Kenyan working in Iraq have brought home over 10 million in cash; creating permanent employment to six persons and benefiting hundreds locally and not to mention thousands of shillings the government has made and will continue to earn in taxes.
One other thing I have learned through this forum is that, most people don’t wish to pay to get sound advice on investment opportunities; I really doubt if business consultants in this country do actually make any good money selling investment ideas. Not unless I’m doing things the wrong way or advising the wrong people. Of all those who have read and contacted me and those who have benefitted from my advice; maybe one or two has offered to pay for my transport to the meetings at the banks or to the car dealers despite the fact that I go to those meetings to introduce them to my connections who makes their dream of owning a beautiful Matatu on Kenyan roads come to reality.
Some, after accessing finance or actually buying the Matatu’s, marvel at their boosted financial ability and forget that there are those who stood in the gap, or as they say- those who helped them up the mountain.- What hurts me the most and I’m really saddened; are those who come to me as first time investors and very new in the matatu industry. We hold meetings in hotels and through one way or the other we agree to team up and shop for and buy a matatu.
As soon as I introduce them to the route and they get to meet other players,they are somehow tempted by the corrupt elements in the matatu sector with promises of security and police protection and unrealistic of higher incomes. They are introduced to shortcuts to evade paying taxes and getting away with traffic requirements and charges; the vehicle hits the road with fake Documents. The problem comes when the new owners realize they were taken for a ride and disagree with the cartels and they withdraw the cover and protectors expose them to the cops and hang them out to dry.
The other things I have noticed is how some influential people in our society take others for granted. I was taken by surprise and shocked at the same time; when an investor came to my office and asked me why I call myself James/wambururu on my personal and public profile and contacts while I use the name“Fredrick?” in my published articles. I told him I was not aware if I was using two names; wondering why he thought I can choose to drop my trademark “Wambururu” a name I have worked hard to build and I have had to explain the meaning and to spell countless times to foreign researchers and journalists for a common name likeFredrick!.
It was then that he pulled a copy of thePSV MAGAZINEPublished and owned by MATATU OWNERS ASSOCIATION {MOA} and went straight to the page and showed me the name of the writer of one of the articles which according to him, he had read previously in my blog. I could not believe that I was actually reading my thoughts and my writing pattern in a published magazine. To my surprise, the editor had not just used my article; he had actually published five of my blog posts in just one issue of their monthly publication. Unknown to this writer,the magazine has been publishing articles from this blog and selling it to the publicgiving those different names for each story but the content was purely my work-copied and pasted-even with my typing mistakes and grammatical errors.
When I called the publishers to find out how he just decided to publish “my articles without even a byline to point the readers tothe original writer,” He told me it was not his concern since he commissioned for all the articles and that he had bought the rights from the said commissioned writers to publish and sell the articles. I requested him to give me the contacts of the people he had paid for the articles but he decline and told me he would warn them never to do that again. It is called protecting the source.
They were lucky and got away with a warning for undermining me and my painfully sort and researched contents: I guess I should be thankful that what I write is worth something to somebody else. But I hope one day I will create a chance to meet the said Fredrick; and those others who were paid for my work.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on June 3, 2014 in Its life, Matatu matters

 

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “useful, used and abused- matatu man.

  1. Peterson

    June 13, 2014 at 4:43 am

    Hi mr wambururu, how can I meet you and discuss about this invest

     
  2. Enock

    June 13, 2014 at 10:00 am

    So sad. Kenyans are ungrateful.

     
  3. D

    June 21, 2014 at 6:04 pm

    Wambururu, pole bro, i am in the industry too but long distance. Now you see why we protect our turf, be strong, you helped someone whether they thanked you or not thats their problem.

     
  4. Alexander, Lorenzo, Mie, Amara and Sabine from Italy

    July 10, 2014 at 10:46 am

    You are awesome James! Thank you very much for the help you gave us Italians! It is thanks to you that we are now here in Africa working on our project. This would not have been possible without all your support, all the information and the positive feedback that you gave us!!

     
    • wambururu

      July 11, 2014 at 8:25 am

      You made my day; It feels good to know that a little effort can help set up such a big project that I’m sure will change much in south African public services.
      you are welcome..

       
  5. Rachael

    August 18, 2014 at 7:50 am

    I think you should set up a reasonable consultation fee & inform the would be investors about your charges before hand.
    Don’t be guilty,it’s the norm to pay for information

     
    • wambururu

      August 29, 2014 at 10:53 am

      thanks Rachael- this is a new world for me- I hope they will be willing to pay.

       

Leave a Reply

 
