RSS

Be your brothers keeper this holiday. drive safely.

24 Dec

The Christmas season is here again and the holidays have already began. Kenyans will be looking unto  us to guarantee them that they will see January 2013.
aMost accidents happen around this season and in my own opinion i believe this is largely because of inexperienced drivers and heavy drinking. It is during this month that the Toyota owners wants to visit forks in the shags and show off their Primos and Probox. On the way, they stop for the jinxed – one for the road – and by the time they get back behind the wheels, the end begins. Not just theirs, but also for family or friends traveling in the car and also the occupants of the other motor vehicle that will help them proof their madness.
 Another major cause of this Road accidents, is – in- experience. It is one thing to learn driving in one route, become a driver in the one route, and drive the same road for years. But it is a different thing to become a qualified driver. Most Kenyan drivers don’t even know which lane of a roundabout, go where; or which lane of a highway fits their speed
The sad news is that; we have so many in the Matatu Industry. I’m seeking assistance to give out 20,000 copies of the Book The Highway code:- to matatu drivers across Nairobi. This is to help them understand the meaning of the road signs they might encounter on the roads as they cash in on the upcountry long distance travels. I know how majority learned to drive and the shortcuts they used to get their licenses. They missed a vital lesson on road safety and the meaning of road signs. Unless we; Kenyans for Kenya. Reach out to them and knock some useful senses into their heads, they will continue posing a great danger on our roads. Donate a highway code to a driver this Christmas season.who knows, you could help save lives.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on December 24, 2011 in Matatu matters

 

Tags:

8 responses to “Be your brothers keeper this holiday. drive safely.

  1. Mugure

    December 9, 2011 at 9:18 pm

    Very inspiring interview!!! gives me a different perspective of what I thought about matatu drivers! From now on, its total respect! Most people are totally ignorant of the life that you guyz live… that you have families just like everyone else and you have to feed and provide for them. I used matatus most of my life, and I loathed them at the same time! but not now….. after being out of the country for a while, I can’t wait to get home and get into a matatu, and hear people talking on their cells phones, or chatting about their lives or their kids! Its priceless!!! Hey, I would like to send some good shoes too and I’ve seen the cellphone number you’ve provided! God bless you in your future endeavors!

     
    • wambururu

      December 10, 2011 at 12:54 am

      Thank you in advance, I hope the story will touch those responsible and I hope they do something about it. Even if they dont, atleast they know we are not happy with the current situation. Wish you well and a safe journey when you come to visit. Its Christmas, he will love the shoes. I will take a photo and put it on the blog. thanks for caring Mugure, it means alot.

       
  2. kenya safari

    December 11, 2011 at 10:22 am

    I got to know about your blog while watching Aljazeeera and I was inspired by what you are doing.. I will be following your posts often

     
  3. Pius Muzzazzi

    December 11, 2011 at 4:33 pm

    Yes JAMES!!
    YOU ARE ALREADY FAMOUS IN TANZANIA!!!!
    GOD BLESS U…..!!

     
    • wambururu

      December 12, 2011 at 1:07 pm

      God had promised fame as part of the package i was to receive for puting my trust in him. You are my witness. I might visit you sometimes and see for myself. Wish all a happy holiday.

       
  4. antony chanyau

    December 12, 2011 at 9:45 pm

    i am a Zimbabwean based in South Africa but when i watched james’s story on Al-jeezera i felt inspired. God bless you

     
    • wambururu

      December 15, 2011 at 9:12 am

      I hope you saved the links for future reference. My writing will make more sense because of you and all those following my blog. Please keep me company. I’m greatful for your prayer. Thank you

       
  5. vizalot

    January 8, 2012 at 1:42 pm

    I love and hate matatus 🙂

    Love because, I have beaten crazy traffic, used little of my own money (compared to those who drive cars and have to fuel and service them), gotten to interact with people from all walks of life (from a drunk improper man, to being entertain by the stories people talk about in matatus, listening to the lies people tell, “niko westie, that time we are at some other random place etc).

    Hate because, I have been insulted by many a conductor for refusing to have an extra person seat next to me (“excess”), I was also once insulted for being on the side-walk when a matatu was overlap yet I had nowhere else to go!; I really detest corruption and every-time the matatu is stopped by a traffic policeman and I imagine there is a bribe changing hands, I get this feeling of disgust in my stomach (at the policeman for accepting the bribe, at the conductor for giving the bribe and at me for just sitting there and letting it happen because the last time I opened my mouth at the Kabete road block, I almost got arrested)!

    So, its a mixed feeling.. I pray this attitude changes one day, that I become a better passenger (more respectful, law abiding, understanding and one who knows my rights), the conductors become more professional, the policemen on the road stops taking bribes, that drivers stop looking for an easy way out of a traffic offence etc..

    Keep writing and I wish you the very best in your endeavours!

     

Leave a Reply

 
