RSS

IS THERE A WRITER IN ME?…..

07 Nov

Something are not supposed to go together or maybe its me who don’t get it. i am reading  the second page of my favorite paper, i call it the weekly magazine {that’s because it takes me a full week to finally let the Sunday paper rest, that’s the much a matatu driver can manage working fifteen hours everyday. Eight hours in traffic jam, two at the garage two in police custody and another two negotiating with illegal tax collectors.
I am talking about this two articles appearing on the same page.the main story is a very sad one and am as mad as most Kenyans are with our honorable government for doing little about the I.D.P;s.I am not so very mad because i have not done a thing myself for them since the violence ended years ago, so i join my fellow Kenyans in blaming the government. i hope the P.M and the president will also join us in blaming the government for not doing enough for the IDP;s.
The other article appearing on the same page after blaming our honorable government is what caught my attention and i know it has also caught the  eyes of my beloved wife, i can even imagine how she will great me when i get home.”Hey honey,guess what they are looking for the next Wahome Mutahi,” Then i will pretend i don’t know what she is saying and say something like “Kwani, how many were there? i heard the guy is past tense” And then she will honestly tell me “No honey,they are looking for a writer like him,” Then i will ask “And what has that got to do with me?” That will be the end of that topic,her last words will sound like “Yanii hii kazi ya matatu nikama kurogwa mlirogwa,ama nikuzoeya pesa ya kila siku?.“what she will be saying is that, i don’t believe i can be anything else apart from a matatu driver.probably she might be right, i should give it a try, but supposing i get the job and have to write something every Sunday for  millions who  read the paper locally and millions accessing it though the web?, then, that means everybody will know about my secret life,i will write about my days in school,My wife will know i pay child support for two other children apart from those at home, my mother in-law will know that i love her daughter so much that she should just move in with us and we live >happily< ever after, All my ex-‘s will know am planning  a wedding and they will start planing how to include all media houses in the now famous wedding breaking party. But it may as well serve as an opportunity to show my boss am better than him,
The only secret i got to hold to my heart is my relationship with the western union. I made a solemn promise to her {my former girlfriend} that i will never disclose it to anybody. she made me swear by the exchange rate at the fore x exchange desk at the airport [when she left to start a six years contract in Dutch land] that i will always go to western union every month in remembrance of her,she has always kept her promise am planning on sending her a text message that reads, i  am not a catholic father and neither are you a nun. i know she must have found a rich white old man,  why else would she send me money every month? not unless its not hers. she never used to give me any and yet she had a good pay job here.
On the other hand somebody out there would want to know what goes on in the life of a matatu driver. We all know them to do the wrong thing at the wrong time in the wrong place to the wrong persons.But since not so many Kenyans own cars we still need them to get to our better jobs everyday.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 7, 2010 in Matatu matters

 

Tags:

2 responses to “IS THERE A WRITER IN ME?…..

  1. Hellen Gatuku

    November 11, 2010 at 7:13 am

    My friend you are truly a great writer and there is no doubt about that, please continue keeping us in the know about what it is like to work in the matatu industry. I enjoyed reading about your western union and allow me to say i can sense your attitude as you talk about how you married her best friend. This attitude is only common with people in your field due to the nature of your work.

     
  2. Wycliffe

    November 18, 2012 at 4:02 am

    It is 1155pm in Canada, while watching the Aljazeera for the real news, I stumbled upon this video. I must say what a gift you have. Keep it going, work hard, pursue your dreams. I will pray for you tonight just and your family for a better day ahead with your family. Am no writer but must say, your writing and thinking is a testament of what, and who you are and will be one day. Good luck and be Blessed. Am simply in awe!

     

Leave a Reply

 
